top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Brown Girl's Review

mamaearth - Onion Hair Oil | with Onion Oil & Redensyl


Everyone loves long and strong tresses – and I mean everyone. There isn’t a person, gender aside who doesn’t care about how their hair looks and worries about how much hair they seem to be constantly losing. What’s more – our outlook for the day and self-confidence is driven by how our hair looks. We’ve all used the term ‘Good hair day’ synonymous for days when we feel great and feel like we can take over the world, and ‘Bad hair day’ for times when things just don’t seem to be going well including how our hair looks.


One method for keeping your lovely hair well nourished is by the age old tradition of oiling, and you’d have to look hard to find Indians in any part of the world who do not try to incorporate some form of hair oil into their hair care routine. We Indians also seem to have a higher affinity to natural ingredients especially with regards to our hair care.


I have always had a Sunday routine where my mother would oil my hair and I wash it off to have nice and smooth hair, and sometime I wonder if in the search of the best shampoo and best conditioner for me, I might have lost the natural shine my hair used to have. I have recently been having issues with hair fall since I moved homes, and I have had to use hard water to wash my hair. In my never-ending search for products to help with my hair fall issues, I stumbled across the product we’re reviewing today – Mamaearth Onion Hair Oil | with Onion Oil & Redensyl. This product seems to only have positive reviews on most online platforms (at the time of buying – Jan 2020) and I literally could not wait to see my hair longer and stronger, and hopefully see me regain my volume!


There is a lot I have to say about this product, and how it worked (or did not work) for me, but before we get into the ingredient list, let us first learn a little more about the brand.


Mamaearth products are available online on their website, Nykaa, Amazon and Flipkart. The brand is currently looking to expand its presence to offline channels, and we should soon see this available in stores as well.

The hair oil currently retails at INR 399 for a 150 ml bottle and has recently launched a 250 ml bottle with an in-built applicator for INR 599.

I purchased this through Nykaa and unfortunately (for me), at that time this product was priced at INR 499 for 150 ml, and the price isn’t the only thing that has changed since then (more on this later).

mamaearth – From nature, With Love

The story of how mamaearth came into being, is definitely one worth sharing.

When the founders of mamaearth, Varun and Ghazal Alagh, a carefree and fun-loving couple (they seem to stress on this online) had a child, they realized there was a gap in the market for toxic free baby products. With the aim of making mum-baby friendly, toxic free and safe products, they launched mamaearth in December 2016.

Over time, with the success of their baby products, they saw that people are looking for clean beauty products, and slowly moved into the beauty and personal hygiene industry as well.

(They have a cute video on their website – do check it out if you’re interested).


Mamaearth is Asia’s 1st brand with MADE SAFE (America’s first non-toxic seal for products) and have stringent set of safety standards. They work with a panel of mums who give genuine reviews on their products and then work on creating new solutions. All the products they make are “By the moms, for the moms, and through the moms”, and as mothers want to know everything that goes into a product, mamaearth claims to honesty and transparency. Another key aspect they take into consideration, is sustainability and mamaearth is plastic positive, meaning they recycle more plastic than they use.


Mamaearth is Certified Safe (by MADE SAFE), Cruelty Free, Dermatologically Tested, Safe from Mineral Oils & Silicones, use Science & Ayurveda and Plastic Positive.

What’s in my product?

Ingredients (Jan 2020): Sunflower Oil, Jojoba Oil, Almond Oil, Amla Oil, Bhringraj Oil, Hibiscus Oil, Onion Seed Oil, Onion Extract, Olive Oil, Castor Oil, Sesame Oil, Vitamin E, Brahmi Oil, Rose Essential Oil, Sandalwood Essential Oil, Redensyl

Also includes - Lime Essential Oil and Ginger Essential Oil


Ingredients (March 2020): Sunflower Oil, Jojoba Oil, Almond Oil, Bhringraj Oil Extract, Amla Oil Extract, Gurhal Oil Extract (Hibiscus), Brahmi Oil Extract, Olive Oil, Onion Extract, Natural Vitamin E, Sesame Oil, Castor Oil, Redensyl, Onion Seed Oil, IFRA Certified Allergen Free Fragrance


(All oils except essential oils are good, and it doesn’t make sense to highlight the entire list. Have only highlighted ingredients that are Average or Poor – Orange & Red respectively)


You might have noticed that I’ve put two ingredient lists that have the same ingredients but in slightly different orders and might be surprised – I was too!

I bought the first bottle in January 2020 and have been using it since then. I also went ahead and bought a bottle in March for my sister because everyone on Nykaa and all influencers praised the entire onion line (even bought the onion hair serum – that story is for another day). It was not until I picked up the product to write this review, I realized a few things:


1. Missing Ingredients – Brands are required

to list out all the ingredients present in concentrations of over 1% in descending order of their weight or volume and need to be preceded by the words ‘Ingredients’ as per ‘The Drugs and Cosmetics Rules, 1945’. This basically means brands need to list out ALL the ingredients if it is preceded by the words Ingredients (with the exception to Parfum / Fragrances). On the initial bottle of hair oil I purchased, the bottle mentions ingredients which include Rose Essential Oil and Sandalwood Essential Oil. However, on the packaging the term Key Ingredients was used (meaning it does not have to be a full list) and Lime Essential Oil and Ginger Essential Oils are mentioned which does not appear on the full list.




2. Change in formulation – There has been

a change in the formulation, and I’d expect a brand that emphasizes on “Honesty & Transparency” to speak about it. Onion Seed Oil went from the 7th ingredient to the 14th or the second last ingredient, meaning its composition is probably around the 1% mark. When you a product has Onion oil I’d hope that Onion oil is the key ingredient, not the second last. Other oils like Brahmi especially have bumped up a few spots and are now in higher concentrations. I haven’t tried the new formulation – but if I wanted a Bhringraj or Brahmi oil, I’d have bought those instead.







3. Essential Oils / Fragrances – In the first bottle we find that essential oils are included in the product, however, in the second bottle I am assuming that these have been clubbed under the term IFRA Certified Allergen Free Fragrance. If this was any other company I wouldn’t care – but when as a brand that goes on to showcase their toxic-free and transparency policies, this looks like hiding to me. Rose, lime and ginger essential oils have known to be highly sensitizing.

When it comes to the oils used in this formulation, no oil is particularly good or bad, and how it works completely depends from person to person.

There is little to no scientific evidence that oils work – oils like coconut oil do have some research proving it does work, but there’s no coconut oil included in this formulation.

What I will do instead is list out the various oils incorporated in this product, and highlight what it has been used over the years anecdotally. Wherever I have found some research to back up the claims, I will provide the links and make a mention of the same.

  1. Sunflower Oil – High in essential fatty acids, especially linoleic acid, and antioxidants such as Vitamin E. Sunflower oil cannot penetrate the hair to nourish it, but has film forming properties, that can give hair it’s shine, help protect the hair from damage, and keep moisture locked in.

  2. Jojoba Oil – Not an oil, but a wax ester, best known to help hydrate and nourish the skin while might being able to help reduce sebum production. For the hair and scalp, can help reduce oiliness, is anti-inflammatory in nature and might be able to help combat dandruff. As it is a wax, it can help create a waxy layer on top of your hair making it look shiny.

  3. Almond Oil - Rich source of essential fatty acids, triglycerides and Vitamin E. Anecdotally known to soften, smoothen and strengthen hair.

  4. Amla Oil – As per Ayurveda, amla is considered to possess astringent properties and be a rich source of Vitamin C. When applied to the hair, it is believed to strengthen and condition follicles down to the roots. There are also claims of amla’s ability to promote hair growth, reduce dandruff and prevent the greying of hair – you might also see amla powder included in herbal / natural hair dyes.

  5. Bhringraj Oil – Bhringraj is considered to be one of the best there is when it comes to hair oils, especially with concerns on hair fall and hair loss. Bhringraj is believed to soften and strengthen the hair, reduce premature greying and hair fall, and increase the thickness and luster of hair. There have been a few studies that have shown that Bhringraj extract had similar effects in promoting hair growth as Rogaine (Minoxidil – topical medication used to treat male pattern baldness).

  6. Hibiscus Oil – The hibiscus plant is rich in both Vitamin C & E as well is a good source of amino acids. Though it has not been scientifically proven, the belief is that the amino acids in hibiscus oil help strengthen keratin which in turn leaves the hair thicker and stronger, and less likely prone to breakage. Hibiscus powder is another ingredient commonly found in herbal / natural hair dyes.

  7. Onion Seed Oil – Onion Seed Oil or otherwise known as Black Seed Oil is rich in Sulphur, which is known to prevent breakage, split ends and thinning of hair. Application of onion seed oil is also believed to improve the blood circulation which can promote the growth of thicker and stronger hair.

  8. Onion Extract – Onion extract has been proven to help in reduction of visibility of scars and is one of the largest components in the popular scar fading cream Mederma. Similar to onion oil, onion extract is rich in Sulphur and can promote the growth of hair, with the added benefit of being able to promote the production of collagen which leads to a healthier scalp.

  9. Olive Oil – Olive oil is rich in fatty acids and antioxidants, and there have been some studies that show that is has promoted hair growth in mice, but nothing concrete. Olive oil is extremely thick and can help moisturize the scalp which can be helpful for those with dry and flaky scalp but can be over conditioning for others.

  10. Castor Oil – There is no substantial research to prove that castor oil does anything for hair growth, however, anecdotally it is believed to help reduce hair fall and increase hair growth. Similar to olive oil, it is extremely thick and acts as an emollient to keep moisture locked in as well as has humectant (attracts water and moisture) properties.

  11. Sesame Oil – High in fatty acids and Vitamin E, sesame oil is known to be able to help rebuild the skin barrier by complementing the skin’s natural supply of ceramides and lipids. There are limited studies on its effects to the hair, but anecdotally is known to blacken the hair (black sesame)

  12. Vitamin E – The brand hasn’t disclosed if Vitamin E oil directly has been used, or is it included as a by-product as the product contains several natural oils that have Vitamin E. Vitamin E is a powerful antioxidant that is known for its photoprotective (sun protection) abilities.

  13. Brahmi Oil – Brahmi is another ingredient that claims to have many benefits when ingested. However, there are limited to no research on its benefits for the hair and scalp. Anecdotally, Brahmi oil is known to help with hair growth as it can rejuvenate the scalp promoting the growth of healthy hair. Brahmi is also believed to help darken hair and make it lustrous.

  14. Essential Oils – The product could include two or more of essential Oils – Rose, Lime, Sandalwood & Ginger Essential Oils – none of which have any benefits when applied to the hair or the scalp. These have been incorporated to provide or mask the smell of stronger ingredients (Bhringraj oil is known for its strong herbal smell).

  15. Redensyl – This is a biotechnological ingredient developed by Induchem Companies, that has been developed to target the hair follicles and activate them to improve hair growth. Studies have shown that on application of 3% redensyl for 84 days, an average of 10,000 new hairs were observed on volunteers. Studies have also shown that even at concentrations of 1%, Redensyl have reported better results than 1% Minoxidil. The added benefit of Redensyl is that it is a naturally developed ingredient (biotechnology) and does not contain any hormones and naturally encourages the hair growth at a cellular level

My thoughts on the product

Oh boy! Do I have a few and let’s jump right in. Following the usual format, we will cover – Packaging, Touch & Feel, How to Use, Changes noticed on using it for over a month.

1. Packaging


The bottle comes in a cardboard box

mentioning the product, what it’s best for (in this case hair fall control), the key ingredients, directions for use, tips for hairfall reduction, who it’s best suited for and manufacturing information.


The product comes in a sturdy while plastic bottle. For application, you just flip the cap open and pour out some product – this can get a little messy and there is no way to control how much product you’re going to get. If you take more than you need there’s no way to put it back without opening up the bottle. There’s also chance of spillage while taking some product. A pump dispenser or just a normal cap would have worked better.


The bottle does also mention similar details as that on the packaging. I appreciate products that mention the ingredients and directions for use on the product label as well, as most of us tend to throw away the packaging on opening the product.


Almost all mamaearth products have white and green as the colour scheme with images of the key ingredients on the label – this product has images of onion, almonds and almond nuts.


Overall, it’s decent packaging and there’s no issue as such, but using a pump dispenser or just a normal cap would have worked better for me.

2. Touch & Feel


It feels like an oil – like it should since it’s an oil.

It is predominantly transparent, with the slightest hint of a mustard yellow. However, over time the colour can apparently change. The packaging mentions that, “Product contains natural ingredients & may change color and fragrance, without losing effectiveness”. I have come across some pictures on Amazon.in that show the liquid to be red in colour (but for all I know it could have been a fake product given half of the stuff on Amazon is fake).


Now about the fragrance, the bottle I have been using smells like jasmine, but the ingredient list doesn’t mention it. It could be the mix of the essential oils that leave this pleasing smell. What I actually have an issue with is that as directed I use the onion oil only for my scalp and use a homemade oil for the length of my hair – herbal oils smell a LOT, but the fragrance of the onion oil actually masks it - That’s how strong it is. There have been times when I could smell the oil even after washing my hair. Strong fragrances that don’t go away even after washing aren’t a good sign for me.

The second bottle with what seems to be a different formulation, smells like bhringraj oil – not onion, nor any of the fragrances they might have added in.


This is definitely not one of those oils that absorb quickly either into the skin or the scalp and hair. It does contain Jojoba, Olive & Castor oil, all of which create a film over any surface it has applied to. It is also quite sticky and gets onto almost any object you touch intentionally or not.

I do prefer oils that absorb well onto the scalp and hair rather than leaving a sticky mess everywhere I go.

3. How-to-Use


The direction on the packaging recommends:

  • Apply a few drops directly on scalp & massage with fingertips, to help the oil penetrate into roots of your hair.

  • Leave it overnight, or for a few hours

  • For best result, wash it off with mamaearth’s sulfate free shampoo.


I prefer not to leave any oil on my scalp overnight – I am susceptible to colds, plus ruining perfectly good towels isn’t something I like doing – I do however leave it on for 5 – 6 hours after application. Given that I’m applying this directly on my scalp with a focus on areas where I’ve lost volume and hair, I feel that it is quite thick, and leaving thick oils for such long time can attract dirt and clog pores (causing more hair fall).

Atleast with the bottle and formulation I received, I would think twice about leaving it on for longer than a few hours.


4. On using the product for over a month


I have normal to slightly oily scalp as well as quite a sweaty scalp. Summers are hell with me having to wash my hair every other day while winters a breeze with once a week being good enough. I wash my hair 2 – 3 times a week depending on how my hair and scalp feel. I oil my hair weekly once and sometime twice a week at most.

I do have some dandruff, mostly concentrated at the start of my hairline as well as the crown and a little on the back of my head. I had thick hair which as I’ve aged has started gradually thinning – I believe this to be a part of my genetics as well as health concerns I am facing. I have especially started seeing an increase in hairfall in the last few years, as well as once I started using hard water for my showers. I have coloured my hair a few times, however, I used the necessary treatments and continue to use products that work well with coloured hair and my hair still retains its normal texture. I have always had split ends even before colouring my hair.


The one and only benefit I saw with this oil was a reduction of dandruff within about 2 – 3 weeks time (2 – 3 applications).

Over the course of time (3.5 months) I have literally seen no dandruff on my scalp.


However, the 3.5 months I’ve been using this product has seen my hair fall almost double or even more – especially the day I oil my hair. You know the scenes in movies when they show chemotherapy patients pulling out hair – well it wasn’t that bad, but that’s how it felt for me when I was washing my hair. That was the day I stopped using this product.

From the next time onwards, I went back to using my homemade herbal oils, and my hairfall reduced in bounds – in one application. I changed nothing else apart from removing this from my haircare routine.


I have religiously taken care of my hair for years, and my hair has always been smooth, even after colouring my hair – but it seemed like the texture of my hair was changing with this product. Even after using a conditioner or a hair mask which usually leave my hair soft, now didn’t seem to work. The only way to control my hair was to apply a hair serum over it, and I generally prefer to either use a hair mask or a hair serum, do not want to be using them both – weighs my hair down.


I also started noticing tiny bumps, almost like pimples, that hurt to touch around my head, started with one and grew to 3 – 4 that would come and go without any notice. This also completely disappeared once I stopped using the product.

Final Thoughts


I wanted to love this product, trust me I did, I so wanted this to work for me that I ignored all the signs till I couldn’t anymore. I blamed the weather, the water, the new hair mask, that I didn’t wash my hair regularly, didn’t change my pillow covers regularly – blamed everything but this oil. I mean there are so many reviews out there claiming this has helped their hair grow longer and stronger – and I wanted that. I was using this product on my partner, and his hair was looking good, so it should work right?


Well, not necessarily. Just like everyone’s skin is unique, so is their hair and scalp. We tend to lay emphasis to the hair and not enough to the scalp, which is where your hair grows from. Any product that does not suit your scalp will ruin your hair as well.

After I started observing more issues than benefits, I turned back to Google and did a little digging to realize that I’m not the only one – there are multitude of negative reviews about how people saw more hair fall and even those tiny bumps I had.


Another issue that bother me is the fact that mamaearth as a brand says they value honesty and transparency. The product was most probably re-formulated, their manufacturer was changed, price was reduces, and the main ingredient that they stuck a picture of even on the bottle is the second last ingredient and comes just before fragrances.

Fragrances even if they are IFRA certified allergen free fragrances, are not necessary and there are enough and more ayurvedic brands like Kama Ayurveda, who have wonderful products that sell even though they do not exactly have pleasing fragrances. I expect onion oil to smell of onions, not jasmine, or bhringraj.


And after all that, to not work – such a bummer.

I agree that maybe this was just too much conditioning for me, or maybe I shouldn’t be using it for more than an hour or so, but as a brand that claims to be dermatologically tested, they should have an idea of the reactions it might cause as well.

Overall Rating: 3 / 5 – I’ve seen it work on others

Personal Rating: 1 / 5


I would definitely not recommend it for those with oily scalp. This could clog your pores and cause inflammation.

Would recommend for those with dry scalp and are dandruff prone.

 

Disclaimer: I am not a dermatologist. The product review is my personal opinion on the product, and what I understand from articles available online. The overview on ingredients has been sourced from websites that specifically look to provide information on commonly used ingredients in skincare and make-up.

Wherever I have mentioned a specific fact or figure, these have been sourced from published Journals, Paula’s Choice Ingredient Dictionary or INCI Decoder, and Journal sources listed on these websites. Information gathered from specific websites will be referenced as well.

I neither take credit for this information, nor can I guarantee the accuracy of these facts and figures and do not take responsibility for the same.

My main aim is to help people understand the various ingredients in their skincare and how those ingredients work, to help make intelligent purchase decisions with regards to skincare. If I have made any error or mistake, please do let me know, and we can work together to make the necessary changes.

 

­­­­­References:

 
17 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page