top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Brown Girl's Review

Body Cafe - Tea Tree Pore Minimising Toner


Toners, a product that some people believe is key in your skincare routine, however, my take has always been slightly different. The reason why toners made its foray into skincare routines at first, was to provide a way to re-balance our skin’s pH as cleansers used to be very alkaline and pretty harsh on the skin. They also were a way to get rid of excess dirt and grime from the skin.


Today, the world has changed (and drastically so) – most cleansers today are pH balanced and are formulated to be gentle on the skin, and in some cases even moisturize the skin. With the importance of double cleansing well understood, your cleansing steps ensure that you are already getting rid of all the dirt on your skin – and if you see further dirt when you use your toner you’re not doing it right!


Does that mean you can skip on the toner – well it depends on what kind of toner you are looking to incorporate into your routine. I have always held that a toner is not specifically “necessary”, but is a good product to have, and I’ve always preferred my exfoliating step to be in a toner form so I can apply other goodies on the skin and watch the benefits. Another exception are toners that soothe the skin and hydrate, and the product I am reviewing today falls down that alley – Body Café – Tea Tree Pore Minimising Toner


Body Café sells their products via their online platform.

The toner retails for INR 500 for a 50 ml bottle.

I picked this up for INR 400, and the product is currently being sold at the same price on their website.

You can shop for their products here.


Body Cafe


Body Café, a women-driven home-grown business, is an organic lifestyle and wellness brand that is based on authentic and traditional beauty practices. The brand looks to merge ancient home remedies, the goodness of nature and Ayurveda to create an authentic product that will deliver. Their aim is to deliver products that are made from nutrient rich ingredients and pure essential oils to heal skin, hair and body in a safe and gentle, yet effective manner.


They have multiple product ranges including skincare, haircare, lip care, men’s range, baby products and even wellness products that really intrigued me like toilet seat sprays, intimate washes, insect repellant sprays etc.


One of the few things I truly appreciate about the brand, and I honestly feel they should showcase, is how the look to employ and give opportunities to women who’ve faced hardships in life and even domestic violence. Providing an opportunity to earn their sustenance, not only provides for a woman and her family, but gives a lot of confidence to that woman to get back up on her feet. Makes me truly believe that it is women who can truly understand and help each other, and I admire the team behind Body Café for their wonderful initiative.

I genuinely believe they should showcase this a little more, because I only came across this aspect as I follow their Instagram page.


Another aspect that I appreciated about the brand was how they reacted to the pandemic. When the pandemic began in India, the prices of sanitizers sky-rocketed to even INR 300 – 400 for a bottle of sanitizer. At that time, I noticed a push from Body Café to ramp up it’s sanitizer production and was selling them for a quarter of the price other brands did, not just making it affordable but accessible to many people. As I write this today, the pandemic is still prevalent, and sanitizers are easily available, Body Café through their website is providing consumers an option to donate sanitizers at half the cost. These kinds of initiatives speak volumes of the team that stands behind the brand.


Body Café products are all organic, free from parabens, artificial or synthetic fragrances, artificial colours, mineral oils, paraffins and harmful additives. Their products are cruelty-free and vegetarian.


What’s in my product?


Ingredients: Steam Distilled Water, Tea Tree Extract, Organic Aloe Vera Juice, Vegetable Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Wheat Protein, Tea Tree Hydrosol, Tea Tree Essential Oil


Green - Yay!! Blue - Good/Fair Orange - Bleh! Red - Nope!


While I’m on the fence about effective some of these ingredients are, there’s no question about this being a good formulation, and with only 8 ingredients - I cannot complain!


1. Tea Tree Extracts


This product contains three different forms of Tea Tree Extracts, also known as Melaleuca from the name of its native Australian plant source. Tea Tree was initially used by the aborigines as an antiseptic for a variety of skin conditions and wounds. The tea tree leaves were crushed and applied as a paste on wounds and skin abrasions. There even were healing lakes where the leaves of the tea tree had fallen in and decayed.


a. Tea Tree Essential Oil


Tea Tree Oil (TTO), the most popular of all its forms, is one of the well-known essential oils used for its antiseptic and anti-inflammatory properties. The medicinal benefits of the oil were considered so important that Australian soldiers were supposedly supplied with some tea tree oil in their World War II military kit.


TTO is has complex chemical mixture with over 100 components, interestingly it is believed that many of these components contribute to its strong anti-bacterial, anti-fungal and anti-viral benefits.

Studies have shown that a 5% TTO gel is comparable to a 5% Benzoyl Peroxide Lotion (gold-standard treatment for acne), however, its effects take longer to show, but with fewer side effects.


The largest question when it comes to tea tree oil in your skincare products is whether the concentration in it is enough to treat acne. Most cosmetic formulations see tea tree being used in in concentrations of < 1%. The way around this is to purchase undiluted tea tree oil itself and mix a drop either with a carrier oil or with a moisturizer.


Like most other essential oils, TTO also does contain components which are known irritants, however, these are comparatively lesser than other essential oils. However, this would mean that TTO is also likely to be volatile when exposed to sunlight and it would be best to store it in a cool, dark and dry place.


Undiluted, TTO must NEVER be used directly on the skin. The best way to apply TTO is to put a few drops onto a damp cotton swab and apply it directly on the acne and blemishes. Alternatively, mixing a few drops (2-3 drops) into a lightweight moisturizer and applying it on the face.


Those with sensitive skin should patch test before using TTO.


b. Tea Tree Extract


The tree extract is not very well researched, however, is thought to contain similar actives as that of TTO, albeit in much lower concentrations.


It is believed to be skin soothing, anti-microbial, antiseptic, and purifying.


c. Tea Tree Hydrosol


Tea Tree Hydrosol, or otherwise known as Tea Tree Leaf Water is created as a by-product of the steam distillation process required to produce TTO. While the hydrosols contain the same components as the essential oils, it is in a lower concentration.


Some specifications have shown the hydrosol to be almost 99% water, and the remaining 1% consists of very small quantities of dissolved essential oil and water-soluble components of the tea tree leaves.


This could be beneficial especially for those with sensitive skin types, as it would have similar benefits as those of TTO, however, would be much more soothing and gentler on the skin. Do keep in mind, this would also mean it would take much longer to see any significant benefits.


2. Organic Aloe Vera Juice


One of my favourite natural ingredients that has been proven time and again to soothe and calm the skin down and is a favourite especially among those with oily and acne-prone skin.


I have spoken in depth about the various components in Aloe Vera that makes it a superstar ingredient in the “What’s on the Label – Aloe Vera” blog post.


3. Salicylic Acid


Another favourite when it comes acne-prone skin, that not only zaps away your pimples but is gentle on the skin and an excellent way to exfoliate and clean your pores to ensure the chances of you breaking out are much much lesser.


To learn more about Salicylic Acid, you can read a previous blog where I’ve detailed all the benefits, and things to keep in mind while using salicylic acid – here


4. Wheat Protein


An ingredient that I haven’t come across earlier and left me pleasantly surprised.


Wheat protein is a protein that is obtained from the peeled seeds of the wheat cereal, that work as a wonderful emollient and helps to condition as well as protect the skin. It also has film forming properties and can help to buffer products as well as act as a good hair conditioner.


While studies have shown that people who have allergies to wheat (and affectively gluten), have not shown any adverse reaction to topical application of wheat protein, but to be on the safe side, always patch test to make sure.


My thoughts on the product


While I was trying out the product, due to some medications that I had been on, my skin became extremely sensitive and dry, and trust me when I say this – This was one of the products I reached out to multiple times to soothe my skin.


As usual let’s break this down into packaging, touch & feel, how-to-use, and changes I’ve noticed in the time frame that I’ve been using the product.


1. Packaging


When I received the products, one of the

first things that stood out for me was the packaging. Generally, smaller home-grown brands are still working out the kinks with regards to their packaging, however, I feel Body Café’s packaging is at par with larger and bigger brands.


The outer packaging is a sturdy cardboard box mentioning the brand and the product category (Toner), directions of use, benefits you can expect to see and precautions.


They do not mention the ingredients or even the product name, I assume this approach is so that there could be more flexibility with regards to their packaging (the same box can be used across their range of toners), and probably could cut costs.

All their products come packed in simple white boxes, and honestly, it’s clean and neat and no drama. Works for me!


The product comes in a simple transparent plastic spray bottle, with a white screw-on lid and a plastic lid on top to ensure there is limited exposure to the environment (air and moisture). An olive-green label highlights the product, key ingredients, and precautions to be taken. The spray nozzle works seamlessly, never had any issues since I’ve been using it, and it creates a really nice and fine mist that is a joy to apply.


One of the issues I had though was the missing ingredients list – while Body Café’s products might have the purest of ingredients, some people and especially sensitive skin types might have reactions to certain ingredients. Aloe Vera (mentioned as key ingredient) as well as Salicylic Acid (not mentioned) are wonderful ingredients and work for majority of people, however, there are a few people who react badly to the same.

Their team is proactive on social media, and I had the entire ingredient list with me post a ping on Instagram, that too on a Sunday.


Body Café also sends this cute little pamphlet showcasing their catalogue, directions of use for the various product categories and contact details.


2. Touch & Feel


The toner is light weight and feels like

you are spritzing some water on yourself. You would need anywhere between 4 – 5 pumps to cover the face and neck.


It absorbs almost immediately and after a few minutes you’d never know that you’ve applied something on.


This is great for summers and humid weathers, and for those with oily and congested skin. This wouldn’t be hydrating enough for drier skin types (but if you’re layering with hydrating serums / creams – might work as a nice hydrating base).


If you’re applying the product once a day, the product would last approx. 1.5 – 2 months at max.


The product is completely transparent and haven’t noticed any change in colour over the last 2 months that I’ve had this.


The product smells similar to camphor, however, is not unpleasant. Over time I gradually grew to even like the fragrance. It isn’t that prominent and dissipates after a few minutes.


3. How-to-Use


The general rule of thumb while using any skincare products is to go from thinnest to thickest in terms of consistency.

The packaging of the product recommends to, “Damp cotton ball with toner and wipe gently across the face. Allow to dry naturally. Avoid eye area during application. Do not use toner more than once a day especially if you have dry skin.”


Initially, I used to use a cotton pad to apply the product, focusing on my T-Zone and dabbing my cheeks with what ever was left. However, I realized that the cotton soaked in a lot of the product and I was using over 6 – 8 spritzes to get a decent coverage.

I prefer using this directly on my skin and have not noticed any bad reactions, and honestly works the same and my skin’s enjoying it. Just make sure you are careful not to get any in the eye contour or in your eyes as advised by the brand.


I use this in my morning routine before I apply my serums. As this does have salicylic acid, ensure that if you’re layering actives along side with it, you’re not using something that might cause a reaction.

Additionally, if I’m going out in the morning and know I’d be getting a good dose of sunlight, I choose not to use this. Tea Tree Oil does have components that might react to direct sunlight, and even if the concentration might not be high enough to harm my skin, I’d rather not take the chance.


This is perfect for layering products and have not faced any pilling issues even with thick serums or moisturizers.


4. Changes I noticed in over a month


I have normal to combination skin (oily T-Zone), my skin doesn't breakout very often, but I do get very painful deep-seated pimples during my time of the month. My skin concerns are mostly unevenness of skin tone, dark spots/moles on my face - I lost count of how many of those I have, blackheads & whiteheads on the nose, appearance of fine lines on my forehead and around my eyes, and a small degree of sensitivity. I do have a bit of melasma on the sides of my face. I also have dark circles that refuse to let go despite everything I do for them. My skin tolerates acids quite well, and I have not had any skin irritation or peeling even with higher concentrations of acids.


I used the toner once a day (AM) for over 5 weeks.


The product claims to remove excess dirt, traces of oil and makeup, removes dead skin cells, corrects, and balances the pH level of skin, helps control acne and breakouts and is skin firming and improves skin elasticity.


Well I can’t honestly say much about these claims, as:

  • I ensure that I always cleanse my skin well, also I have never used it at night

  • I’m not sure about the exfoliation aspect of it – it would need to have 0.5 – 2% of Salicylic Acid for it to act as an effective chemical exfoliant. Did not notice any significant change, also I do use stronger acids in my routine as well

  • There’s no way for me to check my skin’s pH level

  • I don’t have acne or breakout often. I did get two extremely deep-seated pimples though, which even my peeling solutions and acids couldn’t touch – so I wasn’t expecting much

  • To see any significant difference in skin-firming and elasticity, I’d need to use it for months to see any actual difference

What this toner did do, and what I absolutely loved it for was its ability to calm down my skin. While I was trying out this product, I was on new medication that completely ruined my skin barrier – my skin was dry and sensitive, my pores on my forehead seemed angry and annoyed with me, and my skin was just extremely dull.

I was scared to try anything on it, but I thought I’d give this a go, and within 10 – 15 mins my inflamed skin seemed a whole lot better. I slowly introduced this into my routine, and paired it with other soothing and calming moisturizers, and is one of the reasons my skin recovered as quickly as it did. Within 2 weeks my skin was almost back to normal.


I honestly cannot comment on it’s ability to control acne, because my skin isn’t acne prone, and since I already have my oily T-Zone more or less under control thanks to Niacinamide, I do not know if the product made any significant difference.


If you have dry skin though this wouldn’t be the best option to go for, as I felt it can slightly dry out your skin. As I do have dry skin on my cheeks, I did feel the need to ensure I applied a good and occlusive moisturizer on top.


Final Thoughts


This is a product that I’d want to keep on the vanity for those days when my skin needs something calming and some love and attention.

This is definitely a repurchase for me, and I’ll probably keep it with the products I save for those days when my skin just doesn’t listen to me.


The only cons I can see is that I’d want the option of buying larger sizes of this, as well as the price point. It’s not very expensive per say, but still INR 400 for 50 ml is on the slightly higher side compared to toners by other home-grown brands.


Overall Rating: 4 / 5


I would recommend this for normal to oily combination skin types. If you regularly have issues with skin reacting and inflammation that leads to your pores looking prominent, this could be a solution for you.

From an ingredient perspective, this could work well for oily as well as acne-prone skin types.

Would not recommend it for dry skin types as this could be slightly drying.

 

Disclaimer: I personally know one of the co-founders of Body Cafe, however, I bought this product with my own money and the opinions and thoughts I have put in the blog are my own.

 

General Disclaimer: I am not a dermatologist. The product review is my personal opinion on the product, and what I understand from articles available online. The overview on ingredients has been sourced from websites that specifically look to provide information on commonly used ingredients in skincare and make-up.

Wherever I have mentioned a specific fact or figure, these have been sourced from published Journals, Paula’s Choice Ingredient Dictionary or INCI Decoder, and Journal sources listed on these websites. Information gathered from specific websites will be referenced as well.

I neither take credit for this information, nor can I guarantee the accuracy of these facts and figures and do not take responsibility for the same.

My main aim is to help people understand the various ingredients in their skincare and how those ingredients work, to help make intelligent purchase decisions with regards to skincare. If I have made any error or mistake, please do let me know, and we can work together to make the necessary changes.

 

References:


 

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page