top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Brown Girl's Review

Khadi Natural - Gold Peel off Mask


Khadi Natural, a brand that all of us have come across in one way or the other – I am a sucker for their glycerine soaps. I have come across many of their products earlier, but never really gave it too much of a thought. A brand I had initially written off and stuck to stocking up on only their soaps.


Recently a good friend of mine, who is an amazing make-up artist and is someone I trust on matters of make-up, skin and overall health as well, told me about the product we’re reviewing today – Khadi Natural | Gold Peel off Mask


I have to mention here that I had given up on peel of masks more than a decade ago – the pulling and tugging that goes into peeling off the mask always seemed a bit gruesome to me and didn’t feel gentle in any form or way. When my friend told me how much she liked the product (and gave fair warning as well), I really did want to try it out – and let’s see how the product has fared!


Khadi Natural products are available in many stores across the country, and is available on their online platform, and other e-commerce platforms as well.

The peel off mask retails for INR 175 for a 50gm jar.

I picked this up from Nykaa (as usual), and paid INR 145 for it during a sale.


Khadi Natural – Natural | Ayurvedic | Handmade


Khadi Natural is registered under the Khadi & Village Industries Commission since 1963. It is an ideal story to look at the growth and development of small businesses while providing employment for thousands of people in villages and small towns. A major win for the MSME sector in my eyes!


The mission of Khadi Natural is “to help human live healthy with the help of herbal remedial solutions of all their healthcare problem and to provide a wide range of high quality beauty products which are made up of purely herbal ingredients derived from nature and cultures”. Keeping this in mind, you’d find that their products are almost always herbal and derived from natural ingredients, include ingredients that have been used in Ayurveda for centuries and are handmade.

Khadi Natural products are manufactured under the guidance of qualified Ayurveda Doctors and made up of Herbal active ingredients which are formulated from organically grown pure plant extracts.


Khadi Natural have multiple product categories, including skincare, haircare, body care, hygiene products, aroma therapy, soaps, and sun shield – and they have many product ranges within each category.


Khadi Natural exports to over 25 countries with the EU, USA, Russian Federation and Asian countries being the major regions of export.


Khadi Natural products are made to cater to WHO, GMP and ISO standards. Their products are also not tested on animals, however, some of their products do contain animal derived products or ingredients, such as honey and milk, and hence are not vegan.


What’s in my product?


Ingredients: Purified Water, Rose Extract (Rosa Centifolia), Orange Peel Extract (Citrus Aurantium Dulcis), Honey (Madhu), Cucumber Extract (Cucumis Sativus), Aloe Vera Extract (Aloe Barbadensis), Mulberry Extract (Morus Alba Leaf), Lactic Acid, Swarna bhasman (Gold), Base Q.S.


Green - Yay!! Blue - Good/Fair Orange - Bleh! Red - Nope!


Some of the ingredients in here have scientific research backing their benefits, however, some of them are anecdotal in nature and are not really an exact science. Let us breakdown every ingredient in this formulation


1. Honey


Anyone who knows me, knows that almost all my DIYs will have some component of honey in it. I’ve been using honey on my face for over 10 years now, and apart from its great moisturizing properties, it is a wonderful way to lighten unwanted facial hair as well. (Also the reason I stay away from any hair mask or DIYs that tell me to apply honey to my hair)


How it works? There is actual scientific research done on the composition of honey and how it can be beneficial for our health as well as our skin:

  • Honey is about 95% sugar – fructose and glucose – and when applied to the skin act as a humectant and have wonderful water binding abilities. This is why applying honey to your skin leaves it feeling more hydrated

  • The remaining 5% consists of a number of other wonderful ingredients such as proteins, amino acids, vitamins, enzymes and trace amounts of minerals, all of which your skin loves.

  • One of the best-known benefits of honey is its antioxidant properties, which help you get rid of free radicals in your skin and the damage they cause

  • Honey does have significant antibacterial and antifungal properties, and this combined with their ability to promote healing of wounds make it a good ingredient to help control acne.

How safe is it? Honey is considered to be safe, but you would have to be particularly careful as the composition of honey can vary from region to region, as the source of the honey – flowers will vary. The darker the honey, the more antioxidant it will be as it contains more phenolic compounds. Before applying honey, always do a patch test especially those with sensitive type skin.


2. Aloe Vera Extract


Aloe vera has everything your skin could ever need, and I’ve spoken about it multiple times in the past, and as it deserves its own post, was one of my first posts in my WhatsontheLabel series – do take a quick read if you need a refresher.


3. Lactic Acid


An AHA or Alpha Hydroxy Acid, whose presence in this product made for a good surprise – I didn’t expect it to be in here. Lactic acid is very similar in terms of it properties to Glycolic acid, and in fact studies have shown that after six weeks use, both of these ingredients showed similar results, however, lactic acid has the added benefit of being more gentle on the skin as it has a larger molecular size.

Lactic acid is derived naturally from sour milk, but most cosmetic companies prefer to use synthetic derivations as they tend to be more stable. Apparently, Cleopatra used to bathe in sour milk for precisely this reason!


Like most AHAs, it is preferable that acids are used in leave in products instead of face masks or face washes. As this is a peel off mask, I am unsure if the benefits of lactic acid can genuinely be noticed or seen.


Lactic Acid is safe, and can be even used by sensitive skin types, but it is always a good idea to do a patch test before application. And as with all AHAs, always wear sunscreen while using Lactic Acid.


4. Rose Extract


An ingredient, in my opinion that is honestly overhyped, and the benefits just do not do justice to the amount of importance this ingredient gets.


What rose extract does have are antioxidant properties as well as emollient properties, what this means is that it can moisturize your skin and create a layer on top reducing trans-epidermal loss. Rose extracts also have antioxidants that can fight signs of aging caused my free radical damage.


5. Cucumber Extract


Cucumber is a favourite for many, but did you know that it has a number of benefits when applied to the skin?


Cucumber is 95% water, however, the remaining 5% contains skin goodies like Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), caffeic acid and other fatty acids. This in turn means that cucumber has antioxidant, anti-aging and anti-inflammatory properties that can help the skin build a stronger acid mantle.

A unique fact of cucumber is that the fragrance derived from it is non-sensitizing to the skin, which is not the case for most plant derived fragrances.


Cucumber slices have been anecdotally used to try get rid of dark circles or puffy eyes, there is actually no proof that it can help. Cold cucumber slices just help drain out any lymphatic accumulation around the eyes (any cold substance can help), and the slices fit the contours of the eyes perfectly.


6. Mulberry Extract


The mulberry is an excellent source of antioxidants, and the root and leaf extracts are well known for their ability to brighten the skin. To add on, it is also one of the few naturally derived ingredients that is known to be non-sensitizing and non-irritant.


In itself, mulberry might not have the desired skin brightening benefits, and works best when combined with other skin-brightening ingredients.


7. Orange Peel Extract


An ingredient used vastly in India and as herbal remedies, and traditionally is very popular in many Asian countries. The orange peel is sundried and then powdered, and this form can be mixed with other ingredients or can be used as itself as a face mask.


Orange peel contains Vitamin C in it, and similar to Vit C has skin brightening properties and can be used to help reduce hyper-pigmentation and even out skin tone. Orange peel also has anti-bacterial and anti-microbial properties, which can help immensely with acne prone skin.


The issue with orange peel, like most citrus fruits is that it contains skin sensitizing ingredients, and for those with sensitive skin, it could wreck more havoc than benefit. Also, it is better to use orange peel products in the evening / night, as some compounds in it become unstable when exposed to sunlight which can cause issues for the skin.


8. Swarna Bhasman


Gold in skincare is very popular, and gives off a luxe vibe to it – but is it really worth it? – We actually do not know.

Gold when applied to the skin, is said to have anti-aging properties, but the few studies that are available on this topic show that it could have some skin – soothing properties, however, the chances that it could sensitize your skin are higher.


In Ayurveda, Gold Bhasma is very popular and is known to be able to cure a number of ailments, however, all of those treatments require that gold is consumed under supervision or under strict guidelines and mixed with honey, ghee or milk. Gold isn’t used traditionally on the skin either – so where does they hype come from?


Honestly, I do no know! To me it seems like a marketing gimmick that latched on quickly as it gives the consumer the feel that a product is premium or luxe, and brands can use it to make profits.

This doesn’t mean you have to stop using or buying products that contain gold in them, if you like a product, and it doesn’t harm you in any way – and as long as the brand is not charging an arm and a leg for “gold” – go ahead with it!


9. Base Q.S.


In India, in most herbal products, there will “Base Q.S” listed, this essentially means a base substance in the required ‘Quantity Sufficient’ to get the benefits of the product. There is so much that can go wrong with that!


Firstly, a brand that identifies itself as herbal could have chemicals in them and list it as Base Q.S. This is just fooling the customers. In this product specifically, none of the wonderful ingredients we listed above have the properties to form a peel off mask – Base Q.S is essentially the chemicals required to create the peel off mask texture.

I personally don’t have an issue with some form of chemicals in my products, but there might have been someone who specifically was looking for a ‘Herbal Peel Off Mask’ – isn’t that misleading the consumer?


Secondly, the brands do not mention what is the composition of Base Q.S – I have no clue what base is being used. It could be just water, or maybe it’s something else, but as a consumer I have absolutely no idea what is actually going into the skincare product. This can especially be an issue if you have sensitive skin or are allergic to certain products / ingredients.


While Khadi Natural is a reputed brand, and I do trust their products, I would definitely like to know what is going into my skincare. I know many people who consciously choose herbal products because they do not want chemicals in their skincare routine, and from the texture of this product specifically there is either some kind of waxy substance or glue / adhesive being used to give it the ability to peel off – which most probably is not herbal in the true sense. As a customer, these are things I would like to know!


My thoughts on the product


As usual, we’ll break this down into packaging, touch & feel, how-to-use, and changes I’ve noticed in the time frame that I’ve been using the product.


1. Packaging


I personally do like the packaging of all

Khadi Natural products – they come in simple plastic bottles with golden lids with simple and clear labelling. Their logo and most of the labelling is golden as well and gives a very neat yet sophisticated feel to their brand.


The product packaging is very simplistic as well and the product comes in a solid plastic jar that is wrapped in plastic. The jar is transparent and comes with a black lid. The label on the lid as well as the side of the product mentions the product details. Another label at the back mentions the benefits of the product, directions for correct usage and the list of ingredients.


I personally feel that they should have provided a spatula or some sort of applicator, especially given how glue-y the product is.


2. Touch & Feel


Like most peels, this definitely has a

very sticky and glue-like consistency. It surprisingly spreads very well across the skin and there’s no tugging or pulling to apply a thin layer.


The product is completely transparent with golden flecks in it. The product needs to be mixed well before use as the golden specks tend to settle at the bottom. If you use it without mixing (like I did the first few times), it will seem like a transparent peel.


It has a VERY orange-y fragrance and a hint of cucumber as well which isn’t too strong, and honestly, on application is quite soothing and calming.

I personally feel there is a slight lingering fragrance of glue as well, which does bother me.


A very thin layer is enough to get the benefits of the peel off mask, and this peels off so beautifully – it literally forms a mask of your face! One of the main reasons I ditched peel off masks is the tugging and yanking on the skin as you peel it off, not coming off properly and leaving bits here and there, and overall just a menace – this product is the answer to all of those issues.


3. How-to-Use


The packaging recommends, “Apply the thin layer of mask all over the face and neck avoiding the eye area. Place two wet cotton pads over the eyes and relax for 10-15 mins to let it dry. To peel off the mask, start from the neck and move upwards.”


The key words here are ‘thin layer’ – anything

thicker and the product doesn’t dry in 10-15 mins and you’ll be waiting atleast 20-25 mins of even longer.


Another issue is if you’re applying this with a silicone brush, normal brush or a spatula I feel that the layer would not thin enough and the application would be uneven. I have tried using this with a normal brush and it just didn’t too well – Best way is to use a thin plastic or wooden spatula, or even your fingers if you do not have qualms over it.


Your skin needs to be completely moisture free while using this - Say you’re doing a bit of house work and have just the teeniest bit of sweat, or even if the power is out and it’s hot and makes you sweat – this is just not going to work. This is true for most peel off masks, but especially more so for this given you’re applying a very thin layer.
















4. On using it for over a month


I have normal to combination skin (oily T-Zone), my skin doesn't breakout very often, but I do get very painful deep-seated pimples during my time of the month. My skin concerns are mostly unevenness of skin tone, dark spots/moles on my face - I lost count of how many of those I have, whiteheads on the nose, appearance of fine lines on my forehead and around my eyes, and a small degree of sensitivity. I also have dark circles that refuse to let go despite everything I do for them. My skin tolerates acids quite well, and I have not had any skin irritation or peeling even with higher concentrations of acids.


Before I comment on the product, I must mention that I am a through-and-true lover of chemical exfoliation and have almost stopped using most other physical exfoliants like face scrubs. I do use DIY masks which might have some granules that have the potential to act like a scrub while I wash them off – but I do not use them long enough for them to truly be one. I also do use a cleanser brush (that I bought on a whim) that I use sparingly (once in two weeks).


I exfoliate my skin twice a week – once with a chemical exfoliant and another time with a physical exfoliant. I do use an AHA toner / serum every alternate day through the week and ensure I do not use those products when I exfoliate my skin. Please be mindful of how often you exfoliate your skin and do not club multiple exfoliating steps into one routine.


The brand claims that the product would, “Gold peel off mask is known for its anti-aging benefits since ages. This rejuvenating mask removes dead cells and helps to maintain the skins pH balance. It imparts a glow to the face, lightens skin tone and makes skin youthful.”


I have been using the Khadi Natural Gold Peel off mask for roughly 2 months now – roughly about 10 – 12 times now, and honestly I would need to use it for much longer to comment on whether it lightens skin tone or actually have any anti-aging benefits.


From an ingredient perspective, the product is filled with antioxidant rich ingredients, however, it is in a peel off formulation, so the 10-15 mins you have it on your skin might not really give you the anti-aging benefits. Also, as discussed above, whether gold has any benefits when applied to the skin is debatable – so I have my doubts about these claims.


With the negatives out of the way, in my opinion this definitely is a good peel off mask and does give a glow post using it. I feel this does a reasonably good job at exfoliating the skin as well – so full marks for this!

However, if this is your only exfoliating routine in the week this product might not be the best option, especially for those with dry or mature skin.


What I truly love is how gentle it is on the skin – I have not used a peel off mask in over 12 – 13 years, but I am honestly glad my friend recommended this to me and I followed through. This product changed my views on how a peel off mask is and the idea that it could even be beneficial.


One thing to keep in mind is that this does slightly dry out the skin, and I’d recommend using a soothing and calming moisturizer, or even follow this up with a sheet mask to hydrate, soothe and calm the skin.


Final Thoughts


If you love peel off masks – this product should be on your must have list!

Given the results you’d see on using this product, especially taking into consideration how little product you’d need for every application, and how extremely pocket friendly this is – I’d definitely recommend everyone to give it a try.


You have to keep in mind though, like most physical exfoliants, this will not be as potent and beneficial as a well formulated chemical exfoliant. This product does however address the issue I have with many physical exfoliants that I feel can be quite harsh on the skin – I truly enjoy peeling this off my skin!


Overall Rating – 3.5 / 5


I would definitely recommend this for normal, oily and combination skin types, and feel it would work well for them.


While this wouldn’t be the best for dry skin types, if followed up with a hydrating moisturizer or serum, this could work well.


While this could be gentle enough for sensitive skin types, this is loaded with gold – a heavy metal at the end of the day – and other natural extracts, which do have the potential of sensitizing the skin. Additionally, this could dry out the skin, and would recommend doing a patch test before using it on the skin.

 

Disclaimer: I am not a dermatologist. The product review is my personal opinion on the product, and what I understand from articles available online. The overview on ingredients has been sourced from websites that specifically look to provide information on commonly used ingredients in skincare and make-up.

Wherever I have mentioned a specific fact or figure, these have been sourced from published Journals, Paula’s Choice Ingredient Dictionary or INCI Decoder, NCBI and Journal sources listed on these websites. Information gathered from specific websites will be referenced as well.

I neither take credit for this information, nor can I guarantee the accuracy of these facts and figures and do not take responsibility for the same.

My main aim is to help people understand the various ingredients in their skincare and how those ingredients work, to help make intelligent purchase decisions with regards to skincare. If I have made any error or mistake, please do let me know, and we can work together to make the necessary changes.

 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page